Useful Links

Useful Links

Our Community MAT

Our Community Multi Academy Trust is a group of town, city and village schools that have joined together to provide the very best education for the children in our care and where we believe that education is very much a matter of the individual.

Visit Site

Early Years Curriculum

We love learning in Catkin class! We plan our learning from The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. The children develop, learn and progress through playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically. There are 7 areas of learning which are categorised into 'Prime areas' - Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development and 'Specific areas' - Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design. The prime areas are fundamental throughout the EYFS and the specific areas include the skills and knowledge which provide important contexts for learning as children progress. Our curriculum ensures children have opportunity to become immersed in practical experiences where they can explore and investigate.  We have inside and outside learning spaces which children use in a 'free flow' ethos in reception and into Key Stage 1.

A parents guide to The Early Years Foundation Stage.