Quick Links

Milstead and Frinsted

Church of England Primary

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


National Curriculum tests

National Curriculum tests


Primary schools are required to carry out Statutory assessments of children’s abilities at 4 different points.  Parents/carers are informed of the results at the end of the academic year in which the assessments are carried out: 


Reception - GLD


At the end of Reception, children are assessed against 'Early learning goals'.  If a pupil has attained well they are described as having a “Good level of development” (GLD).


Year 1 - phonics


Children in Year 1 are tested on their ability to link sounds and letters when reading. This is known as phonics screening. An information pack for parents can be accessed via the following link:


Year 1 phonics screening guide for parents


Year 2 and year 6 - SATs


SATS (standard assessment tests) are a series of assessments in reading, GPS (grammar, punctuation and spelling) and maths carried out in two stages during your child’s primary education - at the end of year 2 (Key Stage 1) and again at the end of year 6 (Key Stage 2).  Writing and science are also assessed but this is done through teacher assessment rather than tests.


KS1 (Y2) SATS information booklet for parents


KS2 (Y6) SATS information booklet for parents